If you want to delete an Instagram account on iOS, it is an easy-going process when this guide is put into consideration. Practice what we have on this page for you to experience smooth deactivation, doing these will stop your Instagram account from running after 30 days. I hope this is the result you wish for, if not, there are other ways out.
Instagram is a sweet place to be due to the unending entertainment and the reach to social lives but it is not possible that everything that works for A must work for B. Probably, the app is not good for your mental health, Business, or moral life. Whatever odd reason that is making you stay away from the social media app, Instagram is easy to delete. It is a platform that designed the deactivation button to be easily reached by users.
However, we don’t always advise users to delete their accounts. The reason is that after the thirty days of grace prior to the day of deletion, your account will become invalid. During this invalid period, you may change your mind and decide to start accessing the place again but it will be too late. That is why we always recommend “deactivation” instead of “to delete”. The reason remains that after deactivation, your account will remain active but you won’t be found by new and existing Instagram users, including your posts.
Nevertheless, you are free to proceed with the deletion idea shared on this page if you are already convinced. I believe that some have more than one account and in order to deviate from confusing followers, they try to keep the only account that seems right to them. If you won’t regret getting rid of this account, go ahead.
How to Delete an Instagram Account on iOS
Instagram availability is beyond the use of Android. iPhone users manage their Instagram accounts across iOS devices as well. So, if you are an Apple device user,
Warning: If you have essential data on the Instagram account, back up the data, and make sure it is a computer-readable HTML format or JSON format.
Now, we can delete an Instagram account this way;
- Using the Instagram app, tap the three lines which are also known as the menu icon which is at the top right corner of the first page.
- Find Settings and Account from there. Tap on the first and the second afterward.
- You should be able to see the Delete button now after tapping on the “Delete Account“.
- Instagram will give you the advice to deactivate the account instead. Confirm your choice by hitting the Delete button again.
- Instagram will ask if you are sure of the choice made. Confirm your choice by asking Instagram to continue deleting the account.
- Your reason will be asked. Drop them as you wish.
- Enter the password linked to the account.
- Permanently delete it now by clicking the “Delete@your username” button at the end point of your screen.
That is how you delete an Instagram account forever. The account will become invisible from now but you have thirty days and nights to reactivate the account by logging back in.
Instead of deleting the account, it will be wise enough to deactivate the account instead. It will save you from the risk of regret later unless you no longer have any doubt.
- Deactivating will keep your photos and your online belongings on Instagram hidden until you log in again.
- All the activities including liking, sharing, and commenting on posts that you have done before will be deleted.
- Even when people search for you, they won’t find you.
Another suggestion that will reduce the risk of regret is to turn your account into a private account, that way, your posts won’t be seen by the public, and even when searched, your username will be seen but your posted contents won’t appear. The account will remain active, but your activities won’t be disclosed to the universe but to only current users.
- To initiate the private ownership right away, go to Settings.
- Click on Privacy.
- Toggle on the slider next to Private Account to make changes.
- If it is already on, it means your account has been private since.
If you care to deactivate the account instead, follow the same direction above for deleting an account to find the Deactivation button. During the time Instagram will be suggesting for deactivation instead, indicate your choice to deactivate and follow the on-screen format to complete your request.
How to Close Instagram Account on Android
You can delete Instagram account on Instagram app when it concerns iOS but a different case when it comes to Android. No sweat, there is always a way out just as we solve life problems in real life. Use the desktop version instead. This is the same way to delete Instagram on PC since it is an action that requires a web browser.
- So, launch the Android phone and open a web browser of your choice.
- Enter the Instagram website – www.instagram.com into the search box and hit the search icon.
- Sign in the account that you intend to delete.
- Go to a new tab and launch Instagram deactivation page.
- Follow the shown instructions to finalize your deletion request.
Instagram Account Deactivate Using a Computer
As shown above, launch your web browser to login your Instagram account at instagram.com. Go ahead to launch the deactivation page for the final process. It is as simple as shown.
I hope you have no trouble deleting the Instagram account. If you decided to deactivate instead, go for it, we will always cheer you. Do what makes you happy.